What I use instead of saran wrap

beeswax wrap dream love grow

I know that I mentioned this in passing on my 1 year zero waste recap, but I figured I’d devote a blog to it since I couldn’t be anymore exciting in life. And I know you probably already know this because of all this zero waste knowledge being poured out into the world, so if you’re bored or doing the “yeah, yeah whatever” thing – just move along.

So what do I use instead of saran wrap?
Beeswax wrap. For you hardcore vegan and bee lovers, I’m sorry. I really do care about the bees and you can trust I won’t be buying this again just because I don’t need to ever buy it again. (Also – factory farmed bees are treated shitty. Go local and small).

Anyway. I could probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve been in a position in the last year where I needed saran wrap so to be honest, it may be something that you actually don’t need. Just keep note on what you think you’d need it for. If you’re a saran wrap junkie, you may consider switching.

Normally I just put any leftovers in my mason jars. And if you took a look in my fridge you’d think we never ate anything because there’s hardly anything in there. Could be because I learned well from my Mama, but we try really hard not to waste food. Everything gets eaten the next day or gets turned into something else or at the very least, gets frozen to be turned into the weekly soup. I can remember weekend soups made with the weeks leftovers growing up as a kid. And I swear to this day, they are the best soups I’ve ever eaten.

But seriously, my fridge. This is my fridge normally, and even this is kind of “full.”

dream love grow dream lived greener zero waste ottawa

Anyway, I got my beeswax wrap from Life Without Plastic but I think you could find some at Terra20 and I recently discovered I can get something similar from Mother Earth Natural Health. I think the only issue with Terra20 was that it came in plastic and at MENH, it was more like a paper thing but I wasn’t really paying attention so you could just call.

With these wraps, I wouldn’t recommend wrapping meat unless you plan to use it only for meat and the meat has already been cooked. I wouldn’t know, I’ve never done it but it’s been said that the meat juice can stay in the pores of the wrap and that itself sounds disgusting.

You can wash these wraps and reuse them. I’ve had my giant flat, which I cut into three pieces and gave one away, for almost a year. You only need the heat from your hands to make them seal to glass or around things. I’ve wrapped bread in them. Covered a half cut melon. I’ve covered a glass container that had no lid with this. I’ve used it over a bowl once. And that’s about all the times I’ve ever used it. Funny how life is when you don’t make garbage.

Also, you can be brave and try to make it yourself like this Mommy did. The cloth needs to be thin and for zero wasters, choose 100% cotton muslin. Also, be prepared to make a mess. Don’t be fooled by pretty pictures, beeswax melted down is a bitch to clean up and because you’re using nature’s precious gold, I’d recommend you make sure you know what you’re doing so you don’t waste a drop.

 

2 thoughts on “What I use instead of saran wrap

  1. Hi Mailyne,

    You mentioned your family soup that was made each week, I’d love a blog post on that – foods to avoid in a soup, what goes well with what, what you store where before you cook it (fridge vs freezer), what else (if anything) you need to make a tasty soup.

    Thanks in advance, Meredith On 2 Apr 2016 3:22 p.m., “A Dream Lived Greener” wrote:

    Mailyne posted: ” I know that I mentioned this in passing on my 1 year zero waste recap, but I figured I’d devote a blog to it since I couldn’t be anymore exciting in life. And I know you probably already know this because of all this zero waste knowledge being poured ou”

Leave a Reply

